The results have been announced of the competition for achieving outstanding results in science and technology by the Government of St Petersburg and St Petersburg Scientific Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences. Among those who are awarded the grants are scientists from St Petersburg University.

The winner in Mathematics and Mechanics is Professor and Doctor of Physics and Mathematics Boris Plamenevsky, Department of Higher Mathematics and Mathematical Physics, St Petersburg University.


He was awarded the Chebyshev Prize for making a significant contribution to the theory of differential and pseudodifferential operators in irregular regions. He is the author of over 170 publications. He focuses primarily on the theory of boundary value problems for partial differential equations and theory of waveguides and how it can be applied to electrodynamics, hydrodynamics, theory of electricity, and electronics.

For more information, please refer to the website of the Committee for Science and Higher School.

Professor and Doctor of Geology and Mineralogy Sergey Britvin, Department of Crystallography, St Petersburg University, was awarded the Karpinsky Prize in Geology, Geophysics, and Mining.


He received the prize for his works published in From Fundamental to Applied Aspects of

Geology: Selected Chapters of Mineralogy and Crystallochemistry of Phosphorus,

Titanium, and Xenon. His research interests are mineralogy, crystallography, chemistry, and materials science. In 2009, the International Mineralogical Association approved a new mineral, barioferrite, discovered by a group of scientists including Professor Britvin.

Candidate of Physics and Mathematics and Senior Research Associate Rostislav Arkhipov was awarded the Euler Prize in Natural Sciences and Engineering Sciences.

arhipov 3

He received the prize for a series of works that focus on discovering new ways of generating single-cycle and unipolar extremely short pulses. This area of research is at the forefront of optics, mainly nonlinear photonics of ultra-short and extremely short pulses. Gaining a better understanding of these phenomena can contribute to developing fundamental aspects of nonlinear optics and developing a new generation of ultrafast optical devices.

Candidate of Art Studies and Associate Professor Ekaterina Skvortsova, Department of History of Russian Art, St Petersburg University, was awarded the Dashkova Prize in Humanities and Social Sciences. She received the prize for research into what united Russia and Europe in the 18th to early 19th centuries.


She also received a grant awarded to the young candidate of sciences by the President of the Russian Federation for her work Images of women and children in the imperial discourse in the Russian art in the 18th century. She is also a curator of the open Olympiad Petropolitan Science (Re)Search in History of Art organised by St Petersburg University.

In 2020, there were 20 winners of the St Petersburg Government prize for achieving outstanding results in science and technology.